Tennessee State Treasurers Under the Tennessee Constitution of 1796 (1796-1836)

The Territorial Act of September, 1794, Chapter 9, and an act of the Territorial Legislative Assembly of April 13, 1796 provided for two district Treasurers, i.e., one Treasurer for the District of Mero and another Treasurer to serve the Districts of Washington and Hamilton. The Territory was divided into three districts, Washington and Hamilton Districts in what is now east Tennessee, and the Mero District on the Cumberland River in what is now middle Tennessee.

Tennessee became a state on June 1, 1796. An Act of the Tennessee General Assembly of October 25, 1813, changed the designation of Treasurer of Washington and Hamilton to Treasurer of East Tennessee, and also changed the designation of Treasurer of Mero to Treasurer of West Tennessee. The district of Mero was also known as the district of Mero, Robertson and Winchester. A further Act of the Tennessee General Assembly of November 1, 1827, created the office of Treasurer of Western District, at Jackson, Tennessee, the office of Treasurer of Mero at Nashville. The practice of having more than one Treasurer serving various districts or regions of the state ended when the Tennessee Constitution of 1836 provided for one Treasurer who served the entire State, elected by the Tennessee General Assembly for two years.

State Treasurers for Washington and Hamilton Districts

Landon Carter John Maclin Thomas McCorry		1796-1800 1800-1803 1803-1813
	State Treasurers for Mero District	
William Black Robert Searcy Miller Francis		1796-1797 1797-1803 1803-1813
	State Treasurers for East Tennessee	
Thomas McCorry Matthew Nelson Miller Francis		1813-1815 1815-1827 1827-1836
	State Treasurer for West Tennessee	
Thomas Crutcher		1813-1836
	State Treasurer for Western District	
James Caruthers		1827-1836