Territorial Treasurers (1792-1796)

Originally part of North Carolina, the area that would later become the state of Tennessee was ceded by North Carolina to the Federal Government when North Carolina ratified the United States Constitution in 1789. Congress subsequently formed the Territory of the United States, South of the Ohio River (more commonly known as the Southwest Territory). The Territory was divided into three districts, Washington and Hamilton Districts in what is now east Tennessee, and the Mero District on the Cumberland River in what is now middle Tennessee.

The Territorial Act of September, 1794, Chapter 9, and an act of the Territorial Legislative Assembly of April 13, 1796 provided for two district Treasurers, i.e., one Treasurer for the district of Mero and another Treasurer to serve the districts of Washington and Hamilton.

Daniel Smith, Secretary of the Territory acted as Territorial Treasurer	1792-1794
Howell Tatum, Territorial Treasurer of Mero District	1794-1796
Landon Carter, Territorial Treasurer of Washington and Hamilton Districts	1794-1796